Lost… and Facing A Crossroad

CrossroadsI am sure many of us remember being told “…watch where you are going,” or “look right and left before crossing the street.”  We were told to be aware, because it is important to know where you are or where you are going.

Over the last couple of weeks, I have found myself driving around aimlessly because I was lost.  Once I was lost in Temple, Texas trying to find a bar-b-que restaurant.  A few days later, I found myself lost in Dallas trying to find a bar-b-que restaurant (clearly, I like bar-b-que).  In both cases, I had no idea how to get to my location, but I thought if I kept driving I would finally see something that was familiar and then would know what direction to go.  In both cases, I found myself at an intersection (crossroad). My Mom was with me on both occasions, and I remember her saying “…go in this direction, there looks like there is life down there.”  We were making decisions based on what we saw, but the problem was that we could only see so far, and had no idea what was beyond what we saw.  Finally, when I got tired enough, I gave in and utilized the navigation system.

All of this started me thinking of what it means to be at a crossroad; at a point where a decision has to be made.  Do we go forward, to the right, to the left, or maybe even turn around?  If we trust our vision, we can only see so far – we can’t see around a bend, over a hill, or down in a valley.  Our view is limited, and if we decide based solely on what we see, we are making a mistake.  It is highly unlikely that we would choose a road that was full of rocks and obstacles; a road that from the very beginning seems difficult.  We would more likely choose a road that was smooth and had no impediments.  If we choose incorrectly, we may find ourselves lost and going in circles.

Christians make a mistake when we trust ourselves to make a crossroad decision.  Our vision is limited, but God is all-seeing (Hebrews 4:13) and knows the path that we should take that will be for our ultimate good.  While we would likely choose the smooth path with no impediments, God may want us to take the path with the rocks and obstacles.  There may be people He wants us to encounter and help on the more difficult path; or there may be lessons that we are to learn as we overcome the obstacles.  As we travel the more difficult path, we may grow in patience, faith, understanding, love, and hope.

When We Are Lost:

When we find ourselves lost and going in circles, we should use our navigation system (God) and ask Him which direction we should go.  Once He directs us, we should trust Him and move quickly in that direction even though we may be tired and frustrated from being lost.

When We Have A Crossroad Decision:

When we come to a crossroad in our lives, we should use our navigation system (God) and ask Him which direction He wants us to go.  Once He directs us, we should move quickly in that direction even though it may be the opposite of what we would have chosen.

God tells us to trust Him with all of our heart “…and lean not unto thine own understanding.  In all thy ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct thy paths.” (Proverbs 3:5-6 KJV)

Glory To God For All That He Has Done

Blessings On Your Journey – Janice

Life Transitions Christian Coaching

Author: Janice Davis Caldwell, MS, MBA, ACC

Even before I knew what it was called, I was serving as a Christian Life Coach. I have always wanted and sought to be of assistance to others as they navigate through life. A few years ago, I felt a calling on my life, a calling for purpose. It took much prayer and seeking God's face, but I was ultimately led to the Christian Life Coaching profession.

Please Feel Free to Leave A Reply