When Routine Is No Longer Routine

routineWhen Routine Is No Longer Routine.  This phrase was recently spoken to me and I found it very profound.  The individual was reliving the routine she had of going to the hospital when her mother was admitted, and then subsequently released.  This routine happened on multiple occasions, until the last time when her mother was not released because she passed away.  It was at that point that her routine was no longer routine.

Routine is often defined as a regular, more or less unvarying procedure, customary, prescribed, or habitual, as of business or daily life.  I thought about the routine phrase this morning when I was driving to worship service alone.  I have had a routine for several years, of riding together with my Mom to worship service.  Our routine was interrupted this morning because she wasn’t feeling well.  As I drove to worship service, I thought about how used to the routine I had become; how I had gotten used to her talking about what she watched the night before on “Dateline” or on the ID network, or catching me up on family matters.  The ride to worship service was quiet, and I realized how much I missed the company and the chit chat.  It was when my routine was no longer routine, that I was able to truly appreciate it.  I was left wondering how I can learn to appreciate the routine things in life before they are no longer routine.

While I am still wondering about it, I now know the importance of not taking routine things for granted.  Life is made up of small, what may seem like routine moments, but those are the moments that make up our lives.

To God Be The Glory For All That He Has Done

Blessings – Janice

Life Transitions Christian Coaching

 

Author: Janice Davis Caldwell, MS, MBA, ACC

Even before I knew what it was called, I was serving as a Christian Life Coach. I have always wanted and sought to be of assistance to others as they navigate through life. A few years ago, I felt a calling on my life, a calling for purpose. It took much prayer and seeking God's face, but I was ultimately led to the Christian Life Coaching profession.

Please Feel Free to Leave A Reply