The Reaping

ReapingI was recently speaking with a friend about how often we utilize God’s promise about reaping in a negative way.  God tell us in in Galatians 6:7-8:

“Be not deceived; God is not mocked: for whatsoever a man soweth, that shall he also reap.  For he that soweth to his flesh shall of the flesh reap corruption; but he that soweth to the Spirit shall of the Spirit reap life everlasting.” 

We often say after someone does something contrary to God’s will that he is going to reap what he has sown.  I know that the vast majority of times I have referred to this promise, I have used it in such a way.  When you think about the image of the Grim Reaper – he is carrying a sickle which is used to reap crops.  So the image is one to focuses on those that sow to the flesh.

On my way to work last week, I was listening to a song by William Murphy entitled “It’s Working,” and part of the lyrics include:

This is my season for grace for favor
This is my season to reap what I have sown

It started me wondering why I don’t acknowledge those that are sowing to the Spirit and say “…they are going to reap what they have sown?”  Why don’t I acknowledge the positive and uplifting side of God’s promise?  I think this world has a way of having us focus on the negatives and not the positives.  I have made a commitment to begin to focus on the positives and to begin to acknowledge the beautiful promise of Galatians, and that those who sow “…to the Spirit, shall of the Spirit reap life everlasting.”

To God Be The Glory For All That He Has Done

Blessings – Janice

To hear the song “It’s Working” at:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CxKm_ZJfofA

Life Transitions Christian Coaching

 

Author: Janice Davis Caldwell, MS, MBA, ACC

Even before I knew what it was called, I was serving as a Christian Life Coach. I have always wanted and sought to be of assistance to others as they navigate through life. A few years ago, I felt a calling on my life, a calling for purpose. It took much prayer and seeking God's face, but I was ultimately led to the Christian Life Coaching profession.

One thought on “The Reaping”

Please Feel Free to Leave A Reply